Holy Hip Hop DataBase

[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]

Rob Hodge - Born King

Release:Born King
Born King
(what is this?) / 31 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Beatmart Recordings
Info:The album is released April 18th, 2006.

1. Intro Skit
2. Track 2 Intro
3. Revolution
4. Reverand Tithes 1
5. I'm Rich
6. Conflict
7. The Suffering
8. Hurricane
9. Higher Skit
10. Higher
11. Determination Skit
12. Determination
13. Tears
14. Wait
15. Reverand Tithes 2
16. So Far
17. Most Hated
18. Thank You
19. Outkast
20. Red Carpet
21. Pretty Ugly
22. Look At Me Now
23. The River
24. God Is Alive
25. Free
26. I'm Ready Skit
27. I'm Ready
Rating:Our users rated this release: 6.8 out of 10
(Number of votes: 5)   Sign up or login to submit your vote

Add a review

Original author/source
Review:Written by LaRosa
Tuesday, 02 May 2006
Rob Hodge - Born King
(Beatmart Recordings)

It’s not very often that there’s so much anticipation for an album, and then it lives up to the hype. Rob Hodge is one such artist whom fans have been anticipating for some time. He’s released several mixtapes that all sold out before fans like myself could even have a chance to purchase a copy. Well, the wait has finally come to an end as Rob Hodge releases his debut release Born King under Beatmart Recordings.

When I first got this album in the mail, I’ll admit that I was a bit intimidated. Why? Well, my eyes bugged out when I saw that there were 27 tracks on this album. I settled down a bit after seeing that a handful of these tracks were interludes & track introductions; minus those interludes, there are about 20-21 tracks of actual music. Other than that minor setback, I was eager to check this project out. The hype was set and everything so far (cover art included) was telling me that this release was going to be something special.

Once I put the disc into my player and finally started to listen to the music, I began to realize something about Rob Hodge; this emcee is a musical prodigy. If this emcee weren’t a Christian, he’d probably be a multi-platinum selling artist signed to some major label. From listening to the music on this album, you see that he has plenty of street credibility, and his testimony and experience shines through on almost every track. With tracks like “The Suffering” and “Tears” you can see that this brother has an undying heart for the streets and is willing to do whatever it takes to reach them in his music.

What I enjoy about Born King is the story telling & truth that is behind each song. One of those songs is “I’m Rich” where Rob Hodge tells the world that he’s rich. What you don’t get until you really listen to the song is that he’s rich in Christ and in his spirit, but not in his pockets; from there, he goes on to give examples of how people are all about money in this life, and how they’ll kill themselves if they lose that money & power, but he encourages those same people to get rich in Christ. Another such song that speaks abundantly is “Determination.” It is here that Rob gives examples of individuals who experience unexpected hardships in their lives and are forced to have the determination to overcome their circumstances. The truth about this song is that, even against all odds, we have to refuse to give up and continue to do our thing. This is probably my favorite song on the entire album. One more track to round this out is the song “I’m Ready.” The interlude for this song shows Rob & his friend getting in the car to go get some food, but end up getting into a car accident along the way. The song then continues on to tell the tale of how Rob fights for his life waiting for the rescue team to arrive. The point of this song is to point out the reality that we don’t know when or how we’re going to die, therefore we need to make sure that we’re ready for that moment by knowing Christ.

What makes this album so appealing is that its sound is geared towards the streets. Seriously, sonically this album sounds just as good as anything you’ll hear from today’s top artists, if not better. You can tell that a lot of work went into the production side of this album and Rob Hodge choosing the perfect beat for each song. Some songs that stand out in this aspect would have to be “Wait,” “Red Carpet,” and “Most Hated.” Another thing that makes this album stand out is that it has the feeling of a mixtape, much like his previous works. This makes the album easy to listen to and allows you to listen from start to finish.

Overall, this is a stellar project that was a long time coming. If I had never heard Rob Hodge before, I would have fallen in love with him after hearing Born King. I’ll admit that some of the interludes (Reverend Tithes) were unnecessary and that the album seems long & drawn out in areas, but it’s still a solid listen. Rob Hodge put a lot of work into this project and he carries out his theme from beginning to end, making this one cohesive unit from start to finish. This is going to be one of those albums that’s considered a classic in a few years, so make sure you have it in your collection. This is only the beginning for Rob Hodge.

4.5 of 5 stars

source: sphereofhiphop.com, added: May 12, 2006
Review:Philly native Rob Hodge brings his rough and rugged hip hop style to his Beatmart Records debut. Born King, a generous 27-track album, brings in production from the likes of Saint Man, Kid Classic, J-Rippa and Todd Collins.

Cutting his teeth on 2005’s Best of Submissions Vol. 1 compilation, and also heard on Pee Wee Callins’ solo joint (read album review), Hodge’s forte is the lyrical essay surrounded by a smorgasbord of urban sound.

Hodge explains his origin and goals on the quick and bangin’ intro before moving to “Revolution”, with Saint Man and Kid Classic at the production helm. Labelmate Japhia Life and Emmanuel Parks sing the hook.

“I’m Rich” is a club jam with Hodge giving the deal about being rich and fulfilled in Christ. We’re talking true riches here, not the earthly stuff. Purveyors of 90’s hip hop will revel in “Wait” with its simple and catchy boom bip. T.K. drops a verse to add spice.

Hodge handles real life issues on this release. With a simple beat often as the only backdrop, he tackles the tough life issues. “Suffering” is a case in point.

Perhaps the best song on the album is “Higher”. Kid Classic lays a beat that straight out of the Dirty South handbook, and Hodge flows with passion and swagger overtop. Definitely a track for those who like to max out their sound systems.

Japhia Life joins Hodge again on the slow banger “Tears”. The emcees take turns in addressing youth who suffer the perils of street life, spitting compassionately and offering God’s assurance.

“Outcast” is another banger that ministers to those who feel left out. J Rippa lays the track and synth samples while Janaa Paeden sings the chorus. Hodge shines on this one with his knack for telling stories of real life, and how God is the Answer.

Check out “God is Alive”, “Free” and “Determination”. There is so much for everyone on Born King, that it could easily have been double disc. Rob Hodge is here, and judging from this first outing, is here to stay.
source: GospelFlava.com, added: May 14, 2006

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]