Holy Hip Hop DataBase

[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]

Joey the Jerk

Joey the Jerk
Country:United States
Info:Joey the Jerk released his debut album "The Average Joe" in 2003. He's part of the crew LA Symphony.

On March 20th, 2008 a MySpace bulletin was send out promoting a new song on his media player. The demo track "Why" is a soft pop track showing the new musical direction of Joey.

For his new album he's been co-writing wih producer Otto Price (from old DC Talk fame), Grant Harrison (John Reuben) and Matt Dally (Superchick).

Joey's dream is a sublime combination of pop/fun energy, hip-hop rhythm, and acoustic flavor, tempered by an organically universal, Southern California chill vibe expressed with singer-songwriter sensibility. It's an eclectic mix that has one common denominator: Joey.

At the heart of Joey's dream is the desire that God would use him, and be pleased with what he is doing musically and in his life. After the disappointment at the closing of Squint Entertainment months before the release of the L.A. Symphony's first album Call It What You Want (2001), Joey felt the need for a musical reinvention. In that moment, a new dream, joey's dream, was birthed.

New Dream
This dream would combine the candor and striving already characteristic in his lyrics with the full breadth of his musical influences. Music that would intrigue, exhilarate, and compel whether enjoyed on the radio in the hustle of a commute, chanted along with a full band in a packed stadium, or sung a capella face-to-face.

On September 15th, 2009 it was announced Joey had a new recordlabel for his solo project Illect Recordings.

Sources: MySpace bulletin La Symphony: Joey's Dream (from the mind of Joey the Jerk), March 20th, 2008 ; Myspace.com/joeysdreammusic ; Illect Recordings update September 14, September 15th, 2009.

Release:The average Joe
The average Joe
(what is this?) / 16 users have this
Media:[Audio CD]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:Production by
- Great Jason : 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 11, 15
- Flynn : 3, 6, 9, 12, 14
- CookBook : 7, 13
- bTwice : 10

1. Welcome to me
2. Joey
3. What I Love
4. Same Dark Sweater - featuring Pigeon John
5. Shut Up + Dance
6. Greenish Blue
7. Journey featuring Cookbook & UnoMas
8. What Do You Think?
9. Angry Artist - featuring Flynn
10. Rap Experience - featuring Redcloud & bTwice
11. Average Joe - featuring Sharlok Poems
12. Rattlesnake to Belt
13. Get A Job - featuring Tom Boofant & Cookbook
14. Sunshine - featuring Root Bear
15. Thank You
Rating:Our users rated this release: 7.8 out of 10
(Number of votes: 5)   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 2 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]