Holy Hip Hop DataBase

[switch to browse mode]

Search info

[advanced search]


Country:United States
Releases:[Life on Life] [The seasoning]
Info:Jason Watson from St. Louis, Missouri is rapper Json. His motivation as an artist is to please the Lord and to be a servant in the Kingdom of God. He has been rapping for the Lord since 2004, but Json already rapped before he got saved.

One of the most impacting events in his young life was the loss of his father which left his mother to raise him alone. Though Jsonís mother loved him deeply her addiction to drugs affected their relationship and led Json to look for guidance in the streets.

Throughout his adolescence and teenage years Json was exposed to the drugs and violence that are so common to many urban areas. He also indulged in and abused a lot of these drugs including, heroin, marijuana, and alcohol. At 15 Jason experienced the loss of his best friend Gaylon, and the pain of this event sent his life into a downward spiral. By the age of 16 Jason had been kicked out of school, served jail time, and become a member of a local gang. Being fully immersed in this lifestyle he couldnít imagine life no other way. At 18 Jason caught a drug case that left him incarcerated for several months and this is when God began to deal with his heart.

The Healing
Once Jason was released he did not immediately relinquish his old activities, but he understood that God was real and knew there was more in life than what he had been used to. Jason continued to experience everything that comes with a life that isnít completely surrendered to Christ. At 19 he met LaWanda Childress. Through this relationship Jason would hear Godís call and then answer it. Neither Jason nor LaWanda knew at the time that this was Godís providence because later they would both surrender their lives to Christ and join in Holy Matrimony.

New Label
Json explains his signing to Lamp Mode Recordings instead of Reach records in November 2008: "The Lord just did not allow it to come together. Its funny though because in my mind it was only right that I would sign with Reach. I thought it was just a matter of time. No matter what we just could not get it to fit, whether it was time or convo, it just did not come together. With Lampmode though it seemed like everything I thought was being rocked. Now also don't get it twisted, Lampmode may not be nationally experienced but I notice how these brothers have stewarded well what the Lord has provided them with."

His debut album "The seasoning" got released in 2005. His sophomore album "Life on Life" came out in 2008.

Sources J'Son signs with Lamp Mode Records, Illspot.net, November 25th, 2008.

Release:Life on Life
Life on Life
(what is this?) / 10 users have this
Media:[Audio CD] [Digital Download]
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:The album is released on June 17th, 2008.

1. Life On Life Intro
2. Catch Up - Interlude
3. Run
4. Music
5. Turning Point
6. What It Do - featuring Trip Lee & Titus
7. Listening Choice - featuring Tedashii
8. My Heart - featuring Dawndia from Cho'zyn
9. I Do
10. Glory Revealed - Interlude
11. Sittin' Big
12. Fight - featuring Thi'sl & Mike Real
13. Who Is He - featuring Lecrae
14. Give You Me - Interlude
15. Ladies N Fella's
16. Move Out - featuring Flame & Future
17. In The Studio
18. Grow
19. Outro
20. Grace - Bonus Track
Rating:Our users rated this release: 8.5 out of 10
(Number of votes: 2)   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

Release:The seasoning
The seasoning
(what is this?) / 13 users have this
Recordlabel:Indie (Independant Release)
Info:1. Intro
2. A-yo - featuring Flame
3. Apology
4. Dig deep
5. Sin problem
6. Grace - featuring J.R.
7. Crying out
8. Faith that works
9. Rep Christ
10. What he wants - featuring Chozyn
11. Slow your roll
12. Da streets
13. A chance - featuring Nicki
14. Walk wit me
15. Take a look - featuring Nicki
16. N.J.D.
17. Spit it clear
18. Take it there
19. Outro
Rating:Our users rated this release: 7.3 out of 10
(Number of votes: 3)   Sign up or login to submit your vote
Reviews:Found 0 reviews for this album. [Add a review]

[Support us] [About us] [Contact us] [MyHHHdb] [Charts] [RSS Feed] [Links] [Admin area]

:: ©2006-2014 BusyR. :: Powered by BusyR.com :: Donate [LTC LVayhECu7YTw9sxmfhG7ZgD4z75scoqeVN]